Merchant Education and Training
Tobacco and vaping merchants are the first line of defense in keeping harmful products out of the hands of people who are under age to purchase them. Missouri state law prohibits the sale of tobacco and vaping products to persons under 18 years of age. An increasing number of jurisdictions now ban the sale of theose products to persons under 21 years of age.
It is the responsibility of retailers and their employees to understand and comply with state and federal laws restricting the sale and distribution of tobacco products, including restrictions on the access to, and the advertising and promotion of, cigarettes, smokeless tobacco products and vaping products.
The U.S. Food and Drug Administration’s “This is Our Watch” Campaign for tobacco and vaping merchants is a great source of information on understanding youth tobacco and vaping laws, including retailer regulations and guidance, retailer training and enforcement, and retailer warning letters. Access the “This is Our Watch” site here.
Retailer Training by ATC Agents
ATC offers 90 minute face-to-face Merchant Education and Training sessions on federal and state tobacco laws. These training sessions allow retailers to participate in the training and allow attendees to interact with other participants and the presenter. To schedule a training event in your area, please call (573) 751-4092.
Forms of Identification
ATC recommends that retailers accept only government issued photographic identification with the bearer’s date of birth. These include state issued driver licenses or identification cards, military identification cards, passports or immigration cards to establish the person is 18 years of age or older to legally purchase tobacco or vaping products. Photo IDs are not an acceptable confirmation of age if the ID has expired.For more information on Missouri driver licenses, check the Department of Revenue website here.