

PROCEDURE FOR BUSINESSES IN MILLER, MORGAN AND CAMDEN TO EXTEND HOURS BEYOND REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS (pursuant to section 311.178 RSMo)

ALLOW 10 - 21 DAYS FOR PROCESSING

- 1. APPLICATION FOR EXTENDED HOURS PERMIT Completed application for special permit to remain open each day of the week until 3:00 a.m., signed and notarized.
- 2. LICENSE FEE Bank Draft, Money Order, Certified Check, or Cashier's Check, payable to the Director of Revenue, State of Missouri, for correct amount of license fee.
- CERTIFICATE OF NO TAX DUE From the Missouri Department of Revenue; <u>must</u> be dated within 90 days <u>and</u> addressed "To Supervisor of Liquor Control." Required regardless of exemption status. Can be obtained <u>online</u> with the Tax ID and PIN, or by phone at (573) 751-9268.
- CERTIFICATE OF GOOD STANDING Corporations and L.L.C.'s must provide a copy of
 Certificate of Good Standing from the Missouri Secretary of State within the preceding 90
 days. (Information available at www.sos.mo.gov.)
- 5. VERIFICATION OF GROSS RECEIPTS Schedule of gross sales and certification form, signed and notarized.
- 6. BUSINESS PLAN Applicants for a Resort Extended Hours license under Section 311.178.2 must also develop and submit for approval a plan to ensure that only overnight guests at the resort are sold intoxicating liquor after 1:30 a.m. (Lake Ozarks area)

PREQUALIFICATION:

7. Applicants must also be a resort as defined in Section 311.178.2. A resort is defined as an establishment having at least seventy- five rooms, having at least 3,000 square feet of meeting space and having a restaurant.

MO 829-A0074 Revised: 7/31/2020 Page **1** of **4**



CHECKLIST OF REQUIREMENTS EXTENDED HOURS PERMIT FOR MILLER, MORGAN, AND CAMDEN

Extended Hours Prorated Fee Schedule	Extended Hours Fees	
(July rate = annual fee)		
July - June 30	\$300.00	
Aug - June 30	\$275.00	
Sep - June 30	\$250.00	
Oct - June 30	\$225.00	
Nov - June 30	\$200.00	
Dec - June 30	\$175.00	
Jan - June 30	\$150.00	
Feb - June 30	\$125.00	
Mar - June 30	\$100.00	
Apr - June 30	\$75.00	
May - June 30	\$50.00	
Jun 1 - June 30	\$25.00	

Licenses are valid from the date the license takes effect through June 30; fees are prorated monthly. Select the current or future month the license should take effect, and the corresponding fee listed is the prorated amount.

Applicable Statutes

Convention trade area, St. Louis County, liquor sale by drink, extended hours for business, requirements, fee--resort defined--special permit for liquor sale by drink (Miller, Morgan, and Camden counties).

- 311.178. 1. Any person possessing the qualifications and meeting the requirements of this chapter who is licensed to sell intoxicating liquor by the drink at retail for consumption on the premises in a county of the first classification having a charter form of government and not containing all or part of a city with a population of over three hundred thousand may apply to the supervisor of liquor control for a special permit to remain open on each day of the week until 3:00 a.m. of the morning of the following day. The time of opening on Sunday may be 11:00 a.m. The provisions of this section and not those of section 311.097 regarding the time of closing shall apply to the sale of intoxicating liquor by the drink at retail for consumption on the premises on Sunday. The premises of such an applicant shall be located in an area which has been designated as a convention trade area by the governing body of the county and the applicant shall meet at least one of the following conditions: (Note: St. Louis County has not been designated as a convention trade area, and thus does not qualify for 3:00 a.m. license)
- (1) The business establishment's <u>annual gross sales</u> for the year immediately preceding the application for extended hours equals <u>one hundred fifty thousand dollars or more</u>; or

MO 829-A0074 Revised: 7/31/2020 Page **2** of **4**



CHECKLIST OF REQUIREMENTS EXTENDED HOURS PERMIT FOR MILLER, MORGAN, AND CAMDEN

- (2) The business is a <u>resort.</u> For purposes of this subsection, a "resort" is defined as <u>any</u> <u>establishment having at least sixty rooms for the overnight accommodation of transient guests and having a restaurant located on the premises.</u>
- 2. Any person possessing the qualifications and meeting the requirements of this chapter who is licensed to sell intoxicating liquor by the drink at retail for consumption on the premises in a county of the third classification without a township form of government having a population of more than twenty-three thousand five hundred but less than twenty-three thousand six hundred inhabitants, a county of the third classification without a township form of government having a population of more than nineteen thousand three hundred but less than nineteen thousand four hundred inhabitants or a county of the first classification without a charter form of government with a population of at least thirty-seven thousand inhabitants but not more than thirty-seven thousand one hundred inhabitants may apply to the supervisor of liquor control for a special permit to remain open on each day of the week until 3:00 a.m. of the morning of the following day. The time of opening on Sunday may be 11:00 a.m. The provisions of this section and not those of section 311.097 regarding the time of closing shall apply to the sale of intoxicating liquor by the drink at retail for consumption on the premises on Sunday. The applicant shall meet all of the following conditions: (Miller, Morgan, Camden)
- (1) The business establishment's <u>annual gross sales</u> for the year immediately preceding the application for extended hours equals <u>one hundred thousand dollars or more</u>;
- (2) The business is a <u>resort.</u> For purposes of this subsection, a "resort" is defined as any establishment <u>having at least seventy-five rooms for the overnight accommodation of transient guests</u>, having at least three thousand square feet of meeting space and having a <u>restaurant located on the premises</u>; and
- (3) The applicant shall develop, and if granted a special permit shall implement, a plan ensuring that between the hours of 1:30 a.m. and 3:00 a.m. no sale of intoxicating liquor shall be made except to guests with overnight accommodations at the licensee's resort. The plan shall be subject to approval by the supervisor of liquor control and shall provide a practical method for the division of liquor control and other law enforcement agencies to enforce the provisions of subsection 3 of this section.
- 3. While open between the hours of 1:30 a.m. and 3:00 a.m. under a special permit issued pursuant to subsection 2 of this section, it shall be unlawful for a licensee or any employee of a licensee to sell intoxicating liquor to or permit the consumption of intoxicating liquor by any person except a guest with overnight accommodations at the licensee's resort.

MO 829-A0074 Revised: 7/31/2020 Page **3** of **4**



CHECKLIST OF REQUIREMENTS EXTENDED HOURS PERMIT FOR MILLER, MORGAN, AND CAMDEN

- 4. An applicant granted a special permit pursuant to this section shall, in addition to all other fees required by this chapter, pay an additional fee of three hundred dollars a year payable at the time and in the same manner as its other license fees.
- 5. The provisions of this section allowing for extended hours of business shall not apply in any incorporated area wholly located in any county of the first classification having a charter form of government which does not contain all or part of a city with a population of over three hundred thousand inhabitants until the governing body of such incorporated area shall have by ordinance or order adopted the extended hours authorized by this section.

(L. 1981 S.B. 126 § 2, A.L. 1986 S.B. 500, A.L. 2002 S.B. 834, A.L. 2007 S.B. 299 & S.B. 616 merged with S.B. 613 Revision)

RETURN DOCUMENTS TO:

District I – Kansas City	District II – Jefferson City	District III – St. Louis	District V – Springfield
Division of Alcohol & Tobacco Control 8800 E. 63 rd Street, Ste. 180 Raytown, MO 64133	Division of Alcohol & Tobacco Control 1738 E. Elm St. – Lower Level Jefferson City, MO 65101	Division of Alcohol & Tobacco Control 7545 S. Lindbergh Blvd., Ste. 150 St. Louis, MO 63125	Division of Alcohol & Tobacco Control 505 B East Walnut St. – (Lower Level) Springfield, MO 65806
(816) 743-8888	(573) 526-4026	(314) 416-6280	(417) 895-5004
Servicing: Andrew, Atchison, Bates, Benton, Buchanan, Caldwell, Carroll, Cass, Clay, Clinton, Daviess, DeKalb, Gentry, Grundy, Harrison, Henry, Holt, Jackson, Johnson, Lafayette, Livingston, Mercer, Nodaway, Pettis, Platte, Ray, Saline, Vernon, Worth	Servicing: Adair, Audrain, Boone, Callaway, Camden, Chariton, Clark, Cole, Cooper, Crawford, Franklin, Gasconade, Howard, Knox, Lewis, Linn, Macon, Maries, Marion, Miller, Moniteau, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Osage, Pike, Putnam, Ralls, Randolph, Schuyler, Scotland, Shelby, Sullivan, Warren, Washington	Servicing: Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Dunklin, Jefferson, Lincoln, Madison, Mississippi, New Madrid, Pemiscot, Perry, Scott, St. Charles, St. Francois, St. Louis City, St. Louis Co., Ste. Genevieve, Stoddard, Wayne	Servicing: Barry, Barton, Carter, Cedar, Christian, Dade, Dallas, Dent, Douglas, Greene, Hickory, Howell, Iron, Jasper, Laclede, Lawrence, McDonald, Newton, Oregon, Ozark, Phelps, Polk, Pulaski, St. Clair, Reynolds, Ripley, Shannon, Stone, Taney, Texas, Webster, Wright

MO 829-A0074 Revised: 7/31/2020 Page **4** of **4**