
 
DIVISION OF ALCOHOL AND TOBACCO CONTROL 

 
 
Michael L. Parson                                 Dorothy E. Taylor 
Governor                                   State Supervisor 
 
Sandra K. Karsten 
Director, Public Safety         

 

1738 E. Elm, Lower Level, Jefferson City, MO 65101 
P.O. Box 837, Jefferson City, Missouri 65102-0837 

Voice 573-751-2964; FAX 573-526-4369 
http://www.atc.dps.mo.gov  

 
INDUSTRY CIRCULAR 

 
TRADE PRACTICES – Malt Beverage Returns 

 
Issued: 01/24/2019 

 
Recently the Division has received an increasing number of questions about what beer 
wholesalers may accept for return or credit under the merchandise returns statute. Section 
311.070.4(16) – (18)  deals with returns, credit and breakage of malt liquor products.  ATC has 
reviewed this area, and provided the Division’s position below:  
 
1) Section 4(17) allows a wholesaler to replace beer with identical product during a regular 

delivery to assure and control product quality. 
 

2) If a keg has been tapped, it may not be credited or replaced.  
 

3) The untapped keg can be replaced with identical product at any time to assure product 
quality; or credited if returned within 7 days. However, a wholesaler cannot give credit for a 
keg unless it is returned within 7 days. If you are picking up an unopened keg that is within 
21 days of code date, you may ONLY replace with an identical product. 
 

4) Section 4(18)(a), states that credit can only be given for up to 25 cases (per invoice) of old  
beer which has been in the retailers inventory for at least 30 days and is within 21 days of the 
expiration date. This means that beer can be picked up any time after the 21 days to 
expiration date has been reached as long as it is 30 days after it was originally delivered and 
is not treated like a consignment sale.   

 
5) Only product in unopened ‘original cartons’ may be accepted by the wholesaler for return or 

credit. The original carton could include a 6 pk or 12 pk as long as the carton does not 
specifically say it is not to be sold separately. Original carton is the smallest carton delivered. 
If the case contains four 6pks, then the 6pks are the original carton. For 30pks, 18pks, 24pks, 
those cases are the original cartons. For loose bottles and 25oz cans, the carton they were 
delivered in are the original carton. 

 
6) There appears to be no time frame on replacing product with identical product as long as the 

reason it is done relates to assuring and controlling product quality. 
 

http://www.atc.dps.mo.gov/
http://revisor.mo.gov/main/OneSection.aspx?section=311.070&bid=34690&hl=
http://revisor.mo.gov/main/OneSection.aspx?section=311.070&bid=34690&hl=
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7) It appears that Missouri law does not necessarily prevent a wholesaler from picking up 
product that was damaged after the delivery.  However, if a wholesaler gives 
credit/exchange for products that were damaged after delivery, TTB considers it a 
prohibited inducement under 27 CFR Part 6 – Tied House.  TTB would also consider the 
wholesaler’s labor cost for the breakage return an unlawful inducement under Tied House. 
Also see the TTB Ruling on  Freshness Dating and Allowable Returns of Malt Beverage 
Products under the FAA Act. 

 
ATC is posting this notice to clarify certain provisions with regard to wholesalers picking up 
beer inventory and issuing credits.  If you have questions, please contact the Division for 
clarification.   
 
 
 

https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?c=ecfr;sid=33fc0c0194b58b6fe95208945b5c637a;rgn=div5;view=text;node=27%3A1.0.1.1.4;idno=27;cc=ecfr
https://www.ttb.gov/rulings/2017-2.shtml
https://atc.dps.mo.gov/about/contact_us.html#d1Contact

