DIVISION OF ALCOHOL AND TOBACCO CONTROL

Michael L. Parson Governor

Sandra K. Karsten Director, Public Safety



Dorothy E. Taylor State Supervisor

INDUSTRY CIRCULAR

FEDERAL MINIMUM AGE OF SALE OF TOBACCO PRODUCTS RAISED FROM 18 TO 21 YEARS

According to the FDA website, "On December 20, 2019, the President signed legislation to amend the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act, and raise the federal minimum age of sale of tobacco products from 18 to 21 years. It is now illegal for a retailer to sell any tobacco product – including cigarettes, cigars and e-cigarettes – to anyone under 21. FDA will provide additional details on this issue as they become available." Any questions regarding the federal law should be directed to the FDA.

PLEASE NOTE, until such time that ATC receives clarifying guidance from our federal partners, ATC will continue to enforce the 18 year age restriction set by state law.

View the FDA's notice here, https://www.fda.gov/tobacco-products/retail-sales-tobacco-products/selling-tobacco-products-retail-stores.

Contact for the FDA's Center for Tobacco Products is as follows:

1-877-287-1373 (9am EST-4pm EST)

For General Inquiries: AskCTP@fda.hhs.gov

Center for Tobacco Products Food and Drug Administration 10903 New Hampshire Avenue Document Control Center Building 71, Room G335 Silver Spring, MD 20993-0002

1738 E. Elm, Lower Level, Jefferson City, MO 65101P.O. Box 837, Jefferson City, Missouri 65102-0837Voice 573-751-2964; FAX 573-526-4369

http://www.atc.dps.mo.gov http://www.facebook.com/atcmogov/

Issued: December 27, 2019