The term "Microbrewery" means a business whose primary activity is the brewing and selling of beer, with an annual production of 10,000 barrels or less.

Required Documents

  • Fee - $5 per 100 barrels (A license fee of $5 for each 100 barrels or fraction thereof, up to a maximum license fee of $250)
  • Statute 311.195
  • Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter to the contrary, the holder of a microbrewer's license may apply for, and the supervisor of Alcohol and Tobacco Control may issue, a license to sell intoxicating liquor by the drink at retail for consumption on the premises.
  • The holder of a Microbrewer's license may also sell beer and malt liquor produced on the brewery premises to licensed Wholesalers. However, holders of a Microbrewer's license shall not, under any circumstances, directly or indirectly, have any financial interest in any Wholesaler's business, and all such sales to Wholesalers shall be subject to the restrictions of Sections 311.181 and 311.182.
  • Primary American Source and Brand Registration: Statute 311.275 The Microbrewery licensee must register all products with the state of Missouri prior to offering them for sale in Missouri.
  • Checklist of Requirements (Please contact your local district office if you have questions).

Secondary License Options

  • Retail by Drink
    • No holder of a Microbrewer's license, or any employee, officer, agent, subsidiary, or affiliate thereof, shall have more than ten licenses to sell intoxicating liquor by the drink at retail for consumption on the premises, and
    • A Microbrewery licensee who holds a secondary retail by drink license may sell its products that are produced on the premises of their Microbrewery. Any other intoxicating liquor sold by their retail license must be purchased from a licensed Wholesaler.
  • Caterer's Permit
    • A Microbrewery must have a Retail by Drink license in order to obtain catering permits.