
1 
MO 829-A0106 (Revised 11-16-12) 

MICROBREWERY – MICB 
$5 per 100 barrels - Section 311.195 

 
1. Completed application form filled out in black ink or typed, signed by applicant(s) or 

managing officer and notarized. 
 
2. Bank Draft, Money Order, Certified check or Cashier's Check, payable to the Director of 

Revenue, State of Missouri, in the amount of $5.00 for each 100 barrels of beer to be 
produced, not to exceed 10,000 barrels annually or $250 dollars. 

 
3. Copy of Federal Brewer’s Notice. 
 
4. $1,000 Tax Bond, properly executed by a bonding company. 

 
5. Submission of Criminal Record Check issued by the Missouri State Highway Patrol Criminal 

Records Division dated within 6 months of the date of the application for the applicant, or 
for each partner, or for Corporations and LLC’s, the managing officer, each officer, each 
director, and each shareholder, member or person owning, legally or beneficially, directly or 
indirectly, ten percent or more of the stock or interest in the business. 

 
6. Copy of Missouri Retail Sales Tax license in the name of the individual, partners, or 

Corporation or  Organization with the correct address of the business to be licensed. 
 

7. Statement of No Sales/Use Tax Due from Missouri Department of Revenue, Business Tax 
Bureau, 3rd Floor, 301 W. High Street, Jefferson City, Missouri 65102.  

 
8. Two recent photographs of applicant, or each partner, or the managing officer 

(Corporation’s or L.L.C.) without hat. 
 

9. Recent photograph of the front of the premises to be licensed.  
 

10. Copy of applicant’s, or each partner’s, or the managing officer’s (Corporation’s or L.L.C.) 
paid personal property or real estate tax receipt for the year immediately preceding the 
date of the application. 

 
11. Copy of applicant’s, or each partner’s, or the managing officer’s (Corporation’s or L.L.C.) 

voter’s registration card or certificate.  
 

12. Copy of city license or letter of approval from the City for premises to be licensed in an 
incorporated area. 

 
13. Copy of lease, rental agreement or contract of sale, or copy of warranty deed for premises 

to be licensed (must be in the name of person, persons or entity applying for the license). 
 
14. Corporations and LLC’s must provide a copy of Certificate of Good Standing from the 
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Missouri Secretary of State within the preceding 90 days. (Information available at 
www.sos.mo.gov.)   

 
 Licensed microbrewers must obtain a Retail Liquor by the Drink license to sell 

intoxicating liquor on the brewery premises. – RBD - $300 
 
 The Division may, under Section 313.840, RSMo, issue a microbrewer’s license pursuant 

to Section 311.195, RSMo, for manufacturing on the premises of a gaming boat or 
neighboring facility. 

 
Applicable Statutes 
Microbrewery, defined--license, fee--retail license allowed, procedure--sale to 
wholesalers allowed, when--certain exemptions, when. 

311.195. 1. As used in this section, the term "microbrewery" means a business whose 
primary activity is the brewing and selling of beer, with an annual production of ten 
thousand barrels or less.  

2. A microbrewer's license shall authorize the licensee to manufacture beer and malt 
liquor in quantities not to exceed ten thousand barrels per annum. In lieu of the charges 
provided in section 311.180, a license fee of five dollars for each one hundred barrels or 
fraction thereof, up to a maximum license fee of two hundred fifty dollars, shall be paid to 
and collected by the director of revenue.  

3. Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter to the contrary, the holder of a 
microbrewer's license may apply for, and the supervisor of alcohol and tobacco control may 
issue, a license to sell intoxicating liquor by the drink at retail for consumption on the 
premises. No holder of a microbrewer's license, or any employee, officer, agent, subsidiary, 
or affiliate thereof, shall have more than ten licenses to sell intoxicating liquor by the drink 
at retail for consumption on the premises. The authority for the collection of fees by cities 
and counties as provided in section 311.220, and all other laws and regulations relating to 
the sale of liquor by the drink for consumption on the premises where sold, shall apply to 
the holder of a license issued under the provisions of this section in the same manner as 
they apply to establishments licensed under the provisions of section 311.085, 311.090, 
311.095, or 311.097.  

4. The holder of a microbrewer's license may also sell beer and malt liquor produced on 
the brewery premises to duly licensed wholesalers. However, holders of a microbrewer's 
license shall not, under any circumstances, directly or indirectly, have any financial interest 
in any wholesaler's business, and all such sales to wholesalers shall be subject to the 
restrictions of sections 311.181 and 311.182.  

5. A microbrewer who is a holder of a license to sell intoxicating liquor by the drink at 
retail for consumption on the premises shall be exempt from the provisions of section 
311.280 (unlawful for retailer to purchase from other than wholesaler) for such intoxicating 

http://www.sos.mo.gov/�
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liquor that is produced on the premises in accordance with the provisions of this chapter. 
For all other intoxicating liquor sold by the drink at retail for consumption on the premises 
that the microbrewer possesses a license for must be obtained in accordance with section 
311.280. (For liquor that is not produced on the premises, the liquor must be purchased 
from a wholesaler) 

(L. 1990 H.B. 1180, A.L. 1993 H.B. 63, A.L. 2003 S.B. 298 merged with S.B. 540, A.L. 2009 H.B. 132) 

 

 


